2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Professors Barry Barish, Kip Thorne and Rainer Weiss of Caltech and MIT for the discovery of gravitational waves by the LIGO Scientific Collaboration.

New York Times article, 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics Awarded to LIGO Black Hole Researchers

The LIGO Team at Columbia University had mission critical leading roles and contributions to both the LIGO instruments and the astrophysics of the field during the decades leading to the recognized discovery.