Condensed Matter Faculty

Igor Aleiner (Ph.D. Minnesota 1996) specializes in interaction effects in disordered and mesoscopic systems; adiabatic pumping; applications of Random Matrix theory to solid state systems; metal-insulator transitions; quantum phase slips in superconducting wires.

Boris Altshuler (BA Leningrad State University (now St.Petersburg State University) 1976; Ph.D. Leningrad Institute for Nuclear Physics,1979 ) is a condensed matter physicist specializing in the condensed matter phyiscs of electrons in metals, semiconductors and superconductors, Quantum transport in disordered systems, Quantum nanodevices, and Quantum chaos.

Cory Dean (Ph.D. McGill 2009) specializes in both fundamental studies, and technological applications of solid state devices at the meso- and nano-scale.

Tim Halpin-Healy (A.B. Princeton 1981, PhD Harvard 1987) (Barnard College) is a theoretical physicist working in various topics of condensed matter physics and classical statistical mechanics. His primary research interests include phase transitions, field theory, critical phenomena, and the renormalization group. Secondary concerns include kinetic roughening, stochastic growth processes, reaction-diffusion systems, nonlinear dynamics, and pattern formation.

Tony F. Heinz (BS Stanford, 1978; Ph.D. UC Berkeley, 1982) is an experimental condensed matter physicist with research interests in probing the dynamics of material systems using femtosecond laser pulses. He has been particularly recognized for his innovative application of laser-based techniques to probe the dynamics of surface interactions. Heinz is currently Chair of the APS Division of Laser Science and has served as Editor of the Journal of the Optical Society.

Andrew J. Millis (BA Harvard College 1982; Ph.D. MIT 1986) is a theoretical condensed matter physicist specializing in the physics of interacting electrons in metals. He has made important contributions to the understanding of novel metallic systems including heavy fermion metals and high temperature superconductors and coolossal magnetoresistance manganites. His present interests include development and application of novel numerical methods for the solution of many body problems, the physics of atomic-scale heterostructures involving transition metal oxides and nonequilibrium many body physics with application to the theory of single-molecule conductors. He is presently serving as Chair of the Physics Department.

Abhay Pasupathy (BS and MS, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, 1998; Ph.D., Cornell University 2004) is an experimental condensed matter physicist focusing on electron transport and spectroscopy of novel materials and devices. He uses lithographic and scanned probe microscopes to study atomic-scale electron transport through single crystals of complex materials such as the high-temperature superconductors, as well as chemically synthesized nanostructures.

Aron Pinczuk (Ph.D., University of Penn 1969) is an experimental condensed matter physicist with interests in lower-dimensionality electron systems in nanostructures. He has made major contributions to studies of electron quantum liquids using inelastic light scattering methods at low temperatures. His group has recently succeeded in studies of excitation modes and energy levels of composite fermion quasiparticles of the electron liquid that manifests in the fractional quantum Hall effect.

Yasutomo Uemura (B.Sc. 1977, D.Sc. 1982 U. Tokyo) works on experimental studies of condensed matter physics using the technique of muon spin relaxation (MuSR). He has performed extensive studies on magnetism and superconductivity of high-Tc cuprate, alkali-doped C60, organic, heavy-fermion and ruthenate superconductors, as well as spin glasses, spin-liquid / spin-gap systems, organic magnetic systems, and itinerant ferromagnets. In particular, Uemura is known for discovering correlations between Tc and superfluid density in high-Tc cuprate superconductors, which have been used as an important basis for theoretical discussions of condensation mechanisms in HTSC systems.